For this assignment we had to do some research into different artists that work with the body, specifically the face. One of the main artists that I looked at was Alexa Meade, who’s work can be found at http://www.alexameade.com . Her technique is somewhat different to anything i’ve seen in the past, what she does is paint on her models and then photograph them rather than just straight up paint them on to a canvas. This adds an extra element to the work but you have to look close to see that its people that are painted as it really looks like it is just painted on the canvas. Some more of her work can be found on her Flickr account which shows you the artist standing next to some of her subjects. http://www.flickr.com/photos/alexameade/

After looking at her work, I had an idea of what I could do to create something similar. I kinda did it in a reverse to how she did it. I started off by taking the picture of my subject, in this case is my brother, layering him from the rest of the background and then I started to play with different filters in Adobe Photoshop. It looked alright however it was lacking something so I started looking at some other artists that played with the face for more inspiration.

Alexa Meade - Transit

The next artist that I encountered was David Hockney, Born in sunny Bradford and then moved to America, he is well known for his work with “Joiners” which is taking a bunch of pictures of one image and over laying them to make them into one big image of the object. These photos sometimes overlap or dont quite join up right but thats all part of the beauty of it. This must have been very difficult in the 1980’s as there was no Digital Cameras, and no way of manipulating them on computers, it was all done with Polaroid and manually sticking them together.

The first Joiner that Hockney did was of his mother in 1982, which is what the photograph below is. He sat her in a chair in the house and just went nuts with a camera to create something fantastic.

David Hockney - Mother

I did something similar to this when I was doing the Common Photograph challenge, arranging multiple photos. This is a good Idea and has inspired thousands of people but its not quite the inspiration I was looking for to go with what I have already got.

The third artist I am going to look into is Pablo Picasso, who died in 1973 at age Ninety One. He well known for being one of the co-founders of the Cubism Movement. Through his early years, right up until the beginning of the 20th Century, Picasso painted just straight up and down paintings. But around came the 1900’s and he started playing around with different techniques. This can be seen in his 1907 painting that currently resides in the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. This painting is the “Les Demoiselles d’Avignon” which was painted using Oil Paints on Canvas. This new style of paining shocked some people and inspired others. It is this style that I want to try and incorporate into my work as well, slightly disjointed and not quite perfect but still is beautiful.

Pablo Picasso - Les Demoiselles d'Avignon

